PPP wins Tharparkar election

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won the by-election in the National Assembly constituency NA-221 Tharparkar on Sunday, Dunya News reported.

According to unofficial results, PPP candidate Syed Pir Amir Ali Shah secured 102,232 votes to win the NA-221 Tharparkar by-election. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) Nizam-ud-Din remained second by getting 52,522 votes.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), twelve candidates were contesting the election. At least 318 polling stations were established for the voting process among which, 95 were declared sensitive.

It is to be mentioned here that the seat had fallen vacant after the death of PPP, member of National Assembly (MNA) Noor Mohammad Shah.

PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon came in second.

Polling for the National Assembly seat began 8am and continued until 5pm. A total of 4,000 police officers and security personnel were stationed at 318 polling stations across the district.

Multiple incidents of violence and chaos were reported during the polling process.

At 12pm, PTI candidate Nizamuddin Rahimoon tweeted that a blast took place at the Kesrar polling station “under police supervision”.