PCB announces 17 player team for first Test match against South Africa

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

On Sunday, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the players squad for the upcoming test match against South Africa. The match is scheduled to start from Tuesday in Karachi. PCB has announced the 17 player squad for the match.

In a news release, PCB reported that the three players tossed out through the opening match selection were Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam and Agha Salman. Even so, in warm-up and training sessions, they will continue to be part of the squad.

- Advertisement -

For the two-match home series against South Africa, Babar Azam will lead the side whereas Mohammad Rizwan will be as vice-captain. The final team eleven, in coordination with the head coach, will be announced by the captain.

Two openers, two wicket-keepers and two all-rounders each, four middle order batsmen, three spinners and four fast bowlers are included in the final squad.

As per the PCB press release, the squad is:

Babar Azam (Captain), Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (vice-Captain), Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali , Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Tabish Khan.